Stop the GR Bullies and the Truth

If you’ve been visiting this site for a little while, you’ll know that Stop the GR Bullies populates their posts with lies and half-truths. If you’re an accused “bully” you’ll know how it feels to be the victim of these lies. My concern, and one of the reasons I started this site, was that people who are new to Goodreads or book blogging would come across STGRB and think they were telling the truth. Which is why I’m really glad that some wonderful person has established a site that tells the truth about Stop the GR Bullies once and for all. It’s called Readers Have Rights, and the tagline is “What Stop the GR Bullies is really all about”. Love it!

 

6 Comments on “Stop the GR Bullies and the Truth”

  1. Here is the beginning of one of your “so called” book reviews:

    Belle says on her review of my book “Year Of The Cat” – “The author has based a character on a teenage girl he is obsessed with. He has used her real name without her permission.”

    This is not a book review, it is an attack on me and lies to boot. Not to mention, Belle never read the book. This is the crap STGRB is fighting against. Not bad reviews, but “fake” reviews, lies and attacks on not just authors, but people in general.

    This is what you people do. And FYI – it is considered by definition “Bullying”!

    If you go into the comments of her “review” – you will see where you people wish me dead. And you call that “reviews”?

    I think not.

    The truth hurts, doesn’t it?

    • eliana says:

      I had the same awful experience. I am sorry you did too. A book I offered for basically free resulted in threats. It got really ugly. If they do not call that bullying, then what is it? Lies, slander and threats are not reviews!

  2. Yeah, I’m on the STGRB wall of infamy, too. They linked my Amazon profile a few months ago, even though (at that time), I hadn’t actually posted any reviews, at all (never mind “bullied” anyone). Really, I don’t know who they think they are? Do they think their “literary masterpieces” are beyond criticism? Did they think they would be unquestioningly worshiped once they were published? Sorry, but they provide a service and if the paying public have problems with their work, they (the paying readers) will be honest about it and they absolutely have the right to be so.

    Some of their antics have been disturbing and pathologically strange, to say the least. Stalking reviewers at their workplaces, trying to find out their home addresses and (basically) stalking people. It’s wrong and it’s high time people stood up to them.

    I don’t care about having my Amazon profile linked on their blog – at least it proves I’m not one of those psychos (and it’s really rather funny – seeing as I seldom use that account to post reviews – I have only one there now, for a friend’s book). But, there’s no escaping the fact that they published some personal information about me, simply because I commented on a one-star review of an incredibly inaccurate Historical novel. The original one-star review was left by an expert in the field and has since been utterly defamed by these headcases.

    Yes, Carol Bryant, the truth must really hurt.

  3. Crystal says:

    I recently came across that site and was shocked at how hypocritical they are (their Beware disclaimer about Carroll Bryant is incredibly ironic considering their own behaviour).They make a mockery of bullying. It’s disgusting that they are only against it when an author is the victim, when it’s reader, they trivialize the vile behaviour of the authors involved (perfect examples: Kiera Cass and Emily Giffin) and blame the victims accusing them of lying.

  4. eliana says:

    I am sorry, but this blog is totally biased. Your definition of author as wel,as your asssessment of who has more power is biased. A new author on GR has less power than a mob of people who begin attacking you. I was a newbie and I expected good and negative reviews. One week after my short story was published ( i never sold any by the way, two people downloaded a copy for free ), one GR user, began to trash it in a review. It was not a constructive review. The language was just mean and awful. As soon as I asked a question and explained I was giving it away for free, a mob of readers started to attack me for” breaking the rules” by commenting on a review. The slandering comments, the one star reviews began to flock. Mind you, those reviewing had not read the book. Those same users began to cyberstalk me through linkedin, facebook. They threatened to call my employer and so on, hurled unflattering epithets, you name it. It turned scary. Me, the author, did not have any power and I was not anonymous. The group of bullies ganged up against me and turned powerful. Most importantly, they had the advantage of being anonymous. They began to attack another book of mine. That is when I unpublished all my books. Two days of being the recipient of bullying, threats and cyberbullying gave me terrible tension headaches and lots of anxiety. Now because of those bullies, nobody will read my books and i am turned off to writing. i want no part in that cruel world. I do not want to be the recipient of threats and personal slander anymore or even remotely expose myself to that. Bullying on GR is REAL and Goodreads does nothing to police its rules. I am disgusted by how much meanness there isin this world.

  5. eliana says:

    and i reiterate: those readers did not review my book, but made tracherous comment aimed at marring my persona. The cooments escalated to REAL threats. The bullies were anonymous, i was not. I was easy to find me, where i live or work with a simple google search. Again who is more vulnerable?


Leave a Reply

